[Arduino #14] Benchmark, case study

Two days something came in my mind that “Maybe someone else has done similar stuff”. So I did some research.

1. Daft punk

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 1.54.05 PM

I’ve been their huge fan since high school but never expected them on my Google search result.

2. LumaHelm by Wouter Walmink

It has 104 addressable RGB LEDs. It’s truly beautiful, creative and innovative.

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 1.55.23 PMHe covered the LED glued helmet with another layer of semi-transparent plastic. It does two jobs: 1). Great diffuser, 2) Waterproof. Really smart. I’d like to do the same but I don’t know where in Aalto it’s possible to do it.

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 1.55.52 PM

He uses the GUI software to control single LEDs. Really cool.

Despite of the fact that it was great media success, Wouter hasn’t released it to the market yet. I suppose the biggest obstacle would be: battery issue.

104 LEDs and RGB LEDs eat lots of electricity. I don’t know what kind of LEDs he used but he it would be, but perhaps the battery alone will be a size of iphone 5?(And that’s when you use Lipos.) In his demonstration videos I don’t see batteries anywhere on his head so I think it’s somewhere on his waist. Something like this:

41G+WmObb8L._SX425_

I think such design is boring. I don’t want to carry a helmet and a pack of battery.

Cool thing

He used accelerometer instead of any buttons. Accelerometer was actually my first option but I wasn’t sure if it’d be any practical. It seems like it’s very practical.

Leave a Reply

